Today's News of India
States :
Andhra Pradesh      Bihar      Chhattisgarh      Goa      Gujarat      Haryana      Himachal Pradesh      Jammu and Kashmir      Jharkhand      Karnataka      Kerala      Madhya Pradesh      Maharashtra      Northeast      Orissa      Punjab      Rajasthan      Tamil Nadu      Uttar Pradesh      Uttarakhand      West Bengal     
City :
Ahmedabad      Bangalore      Chandigarh      Chennai      Delhi      Hyderabad      Jaipur      Kolkata      Lucknow      Mumbai      Patna      Pune      Surat     
Sports :
     Live Scores     Upcoming Matches     Today's Cricket Matches     Sports :  Football     Tennis

World Snap > Blog/Opinion > List of all Presidents of India till date

List of all Presidents of India till date

  • Get Latest News on :

    Here is list of all the presidents of India.

    Rajendra Prasad (Jan 26, 1950-May 13, 1962): India’s first president and the only one to have served two terms.

    S. Radhakrishnan (May 13, 1962-May 13, 1967) A scholar of comparative religion and philosophy, his birthday Sep 5 is marked as Teacher’s Day.

    Zakir Hussain (May 13, 1967-May 3, 1969) Educationist Hussain died before his term ended.

    V.V. Giri (Aug 24, 1969-Aug 24, 1974) The only one to have been both acting president and president, he defeated official Congress candidate N. Sanjiva Reddy with Indira Gandhi’s backing.

    Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (Aug 24, 1974-Feb 11, 1977) He signed Indira Gandhi’s Emergency proclamation, and also died before his term ended.

    Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (July 25, 1977-July 25, 1982) Became head of state after the Congress was voted out.

    Giani Zail Singh (July 25, 1982-July 25, 1987) It was during his tenure that Indira Gandhi was assassinated.

    R. Venkataraman (July 25, 1987-July 25, 1992) A Gandhi family loyalist, he was part of independent India’s Provisional Parliament.

    Shankar Dayal Sharma (July 25, 1992-July 25, 1997) A former vice president who was elevated to the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

    K.R. Narayanan (July 25, 1997-July 25, 2002): India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and the US, Narayanan learnt economics from Harold Laski.

    A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (July 25, 2002-July 25, 2007): Played a key role in the development of India’s ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programmes.

    Pratibha Patil (July 25, 2007-): The first woman to be head of state.

    Pranab Mukherjee: President-elect comes to Rashtrapati Bhavan after four decades in politics.

    Get More News on :

    • rocking shivam

      prograssive chor hai sale..

    • ayush

      feeling proud..

    Author : , Section : Blog/Opinion, India, Top News, TAGS : Tagged as:

Subscribe us to win MotoG Phone?