Today's News of India
States :
Andhra Pradesh      Bihar      Chhattisgarh      Goa      Gujarat      Haryana      Himachal Pradesh      Jammu and Kashmir      Jharkhand      Karnataka      Kerala      Madhya Pradesh      Maharashtra      Northeast      Orissa      Punjab      Rajasthan      Tamil Nadu      Uttar Pradesh      Uttarakhand      West Bengal     
City :
Ahmedabad      Bangalore      Chandigarh      Chennai      Delhi      Hyderabad      Jaipur      Kolkata      Lucknow      Mumbai      Patna      Pune      Surat     
Sports :
     Live Scores     Upcoming Matches     Today's Cricket Matches     Sports :  Football     Tennis

World Snap > States > Andhra Pradesh > Hyderabad > Shutdown in Chittoor to oppose Andhra’s possible division

Shutdown in Chittoor to oppose Andhra’s possible division

  • Hyderabad¬† :¬† In the face of the central government indefinitely delaying a decision on Telangana, protests are continuing in Rayalaseema and Andhra regions of Andhra Pradesh to oppose a possible division of the state.

    A shutdown was being observed Tuesday in Chittoor district of Rayalaseema region to demand the centre to keep the state undivided.

    Shops, business establishments and educational institutions remained closed in Chittoor, Tirupati and other towns.

    Hundreds of people, including students, took to streets in Chittoor, opposing the demand for bifurcation of the state.

    Holding banners and placards, the protestors raised slogans in support of ‘samaikhya Andhra’ or united Andhra.

    The protestors said a state formed for Telugu-speaking people should remain united.

    Chittoor legislator C.K. Babu supported the shutdown call given by samaikhya Andhra Joint Action Committee (SAJAC).

    In the temple town of Tirupati, SAJAC activists forced closure of shops. The protestors also damaged buses of those schools which were open, ignoring the shutdown call.

    Protests were continuing in majority of the nine districts of Andhra and four districts of Rayalaseema to oppose possible division of the state.

    Telangana comprises 10 districts, including Hyderabad.

    Author : , Section : Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad, India, Top News, TAGS :

Subscribe us to win MotoG Phone?